The Barrhead Library started as a community library in December of 1950 with a $200 donation from the estate of homesteader Jack McKerracher and additional government grants. Over the years the library has been moved to various locations, always within the school grounds. It has been housed in the corner of a school, in a one room and then a two room school and in the county office on the school grounds. It was then moved into the larger, specially designed setting where it is today. In 2010, the Library celebrated 60 years of service to the Barrhead area community. Our library serves both the Town and County of Barrhead, as well as the school, and is unique in that it has always operated as a combined school and public facility.
A more detailed history of the Barrhead Public Library can be found in our 50th anniversary book ‘One of a Kind: the Story of the Barrhead Public and School Library.’ This title is available in our library collection.